Article published by the Turnagain Times on 8-7-14:


 Vol. 17, No. 15
Serving Indian, Bird, Girdwood, Portage, Whittier, Hope, Cooper Landing & Moose Pass  
August 7, 2014

Candidates line up for primary

Ballot measure asks voters to repeal oil tax credit

The primary election Tuesday, Aug. 19, features a full slate of candidates and one ballot measure. Candidates will be vying for governor, lieutenant governor, U.S. Senator, and Representative, and a large number of seats in the Alaska Legislature.

Ballot measure 1 was spearheaded by a group seeking to repeal Senate Bill 21, which was passed by the Legislature in 2013. A “no” vote would approve the law – an act relating to oil and gas production tax, interest rates on overdue taxes and tax credits. As described in part by a ballot measure pamphlet mailed to citizens throughout the state, “The law provides a corporate income tax credit for qualified oil and gas service-industry expenditures and establishes an Oil and Gas Competitiveness Review Board in the Department of Revenue” and “The Act lowers the interest rate for past due oil and gas taxes.”

The ballot measure language is covered in great detail over 31 pages of text in the pamphlet.

The opponents of SB 21, led by chair Vic Fischer, have stated their position succinctly, “Repeal the oil giveaway!” To vote “yes” on ballot measure 1, they state, will “ensure oil tax fairness.”

As for the candidates in this year’s primary, one of the big tickets is for the U.S. Senate seat occupied by incumbent Sen. Mark Begich. One Democrat is running against the senator, William “Bill” Bryk, who is from Brooklyn, N.Y.

The Republican candidates vying for the U.S. Senate seat are: John M. Jaramillo of Palmer, Joe Miller from Fairbanks, Dan Sullivan and Mead Treadwell, both from Anchorage.

Three Libertarians are pitted against each other in the primary for the U.S. Senate seat: Thom M. Walker of Fairbanks, Scott A. Kohlhaas of Anchorage and Mark S. Fish of Big Lake. In addition, two Alaskan Independence candidates have thrown their hats into the U.S. Senate race: Zachary A. Kile and Vic Kohring both from Wasilla.

Alaska U.S. Representative Don Young faces three Republican candidates in the primary. Young, who turned 81 years of age on June 9, has been Alaska’s lone U.S. Representative since 1973. His Republican challengers include David Seaward of Anchorage, John R. Cox of Anchor Point and David F. “Dave” Dohner from Fairbanks.

On the Democratic ticket for U.S. Representative are Forrest Dunbar of Anchorage and Frank J. Vondersaar of Homer. Jim C. McDermott of Fairbanks is the lone Libertarian running.

Gov. Sean Parnell faces three Republican challengers: Brad Snowden of Seward, Gerald L. “Tap” Heikes of Palmer and Russ Millette of Anchorage.

Two Democrats are seeking a primary victory for the governor’s race: Byron I. Mallot of Juneau and Phil G. Stoddard of Anchorage, and Anchorage resident Carolyn F. “Care” Clift is the lone Libertarian in the gubernatorial race.

Finally, the last big ticket race is for lieutenant governor. The most well known of the candidates is Anchorage Mayor Dan Sullivan who faces Kelly J. Wolf of Kenai on the Republican ticket. Democrats Hollis S. French of Anchorage and Robert L. “Bob” Williams of Wasilla will faceoff against each other. Andrew C. Lee of Nome represents the Libertarian Party.

For the Legislature, 14 Senate seats are open and 40 Representative seats. Of interest to Turnagain Arm residents is Senate District N with incumbent Republican Catherine A. “Cathy” Giessel facing Democratic opponent Harry T. Crawford Jr. Neither candidate faces a challenger in the primary.

The same holds true for state Representative District 28, which includes Turnagain Arm, as incumbent Mike Hawker awaits the general election Nov. 4 to face Democratic challenger Samuel Duff Combs of Anchorage.

Polling places for the primary election open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.


© 2014 Midnight Sun Communications, LLC










Web Design and Development by OTC