This article was published in the Seward Phoenix Log on 6-19-14:



By Annette Shacklett

Voters have few choices in local primaries


Alaska Redistricting Board

Election districts for the 2014 elections.

Few choices for the Alaska Legislature face voters in the August primary or the November general election. However, the primary will include plenty of party nomination choices for federal and state offices, and a vote on Ballot Measure 21 to decide whether to keep or reject Alaska current oil tax structure.

After the courts threw out the election districts used in the 2012 elections, the Alaska Redistricting Board went back to work producing new districts. The new districts were approved in November. The East Kenai Peninsula Senate District is no longer coupled with South Anchorage. Instead, it is now in the same district as Kenai.

Sen. Peter Micciche, an incumbent Republican from Kenai, is unopposed in the primary election for his party's nomination to run for Senate Seat O. In the general election he will run against the non-affiliated candidate Eric D. Treider.

Rep. Mike Chenault, incumbent Republican from Nikiski, is unopposed in the primary election for his party's nomination to run for House Seat 29. Rocky Knudsen is running in the primary for the Democrat Party nomination to run in the general election.

Running for U.S. Senator party nominations in this year's primary are incumbent Mark Begich (D), William "Bill" Bryk (D), John M. Jaramillo (R), Joe Miller (R), Dan Sullivan (R), Mead Treadwell (R), Mark S. Fish (L), Scott A. Kohlhaas (L), Thom M. Walker (L), Zachary A. Kile (AI) and Vic Kohring (AI). Unaffiliated candidates Ted Gianoutsos and Sid Hill will be on the general election ballot.

Running for U.S. Representative party nominations in this year's primary are incumbent Don Young (R), David Seaward (R), John R. Cox (R), David F. "Dave" Dohner (R), Forrest Dunbar (D), Frank J. Vondersaar (D) and Jim C. McDermott (L).

For Alaska governor the candidates for party nominations are incumbent Sean Parnell (R), Brad Snowden (R), Gerald L. "Tap" Heikes (R), Russ Millette (R), Phil G. Stoddard (D), Byron I. Mallott (D) and Carolyn F. "Care" Clift (L). On the general election ballot will be Alaska Constitution Party J.R. Meyers with Maria Rensel as lieutenant governor running mate, and non-affiliated Bill Walker with Craig Fleener as lieutenant governor running mate.

For lieutenant governor the candidates

for party nominations are Hollis S. French (D), Robert L. "Bob" Williams (D), Kelly J. Wolf (R), Andrew C. Lee (L) and Dan Sullivan (L).

The primary election on Aug. 19 will include a vote on whether to continue with the oil tax structure legislated in 2013. If Ballot Measure 21 passes, the state would revert to the previous oil tax structure.

The general election on Nov. 4 will include three ballot measures. If passed, Ballot Measure 2 would allow for the taxation of marijuana and regulation of its production, sale and use. Ballot Measure 3 would increase Alaska's minimum wage, and Ballot Measure 4 would provide for the protection of Bristol Bay wild salmon and waters within or flowing into the existing 1972 Bristol Bay Fisheries Reserve.

The deadline to register to vote or update registration information for the Aug. 19 primary is July 20. Registration can be done at Division of Elections offices, city or borough clerk's offices, Division of Motor Vehicles, public assistance agencies, state agencies serving people with disabilities, participating public libraries, tribal government offices, legislative information offices, United States Armed Forces recruitment offices, political party offices; and voter registrars. An application and information are online athttp